I love this time of year. It’s a time of praise, gratitude, celebration, and reflection. Thinking back, I am especially thankful for a particular person that has greatly influenced my life and current path in life.

He graced my world about 10 years ago. I don’t remember our introduction, but right out of the gate, he was asking me to do things that made me uncomfortable. I believe he saw potential in me. We were in community together at Discovery Church. We both belonged to DVAT (Discovery Visual Arts Team). This was my first small group! It was a great experience. As I grew with this team, our bond strengthened and he continued asking me to try new things. I jumped into camera work, producing, and presently, facilitating online services. He left me with this last task to lead for him.

His name was Bernard DeLoach. He was my pastor, friend, mentor, and a father-like figure in my life.

You might be wondering, what’s with the title of this post? Well, in Bernard’s final year of life, he lived with brain cancer. He would post wonderful inspiring nuggets of wisdom and fun facts on Facebook. He called it “Tumor Humor.” One of his last installments:

“Tumor Humor: Don’t know what to think when a hospice nurse says, ‘Let him eat whatever he wants.’ –Hold on. I think I hear the Ben and Jerry’s delivery truck pulling up!” – December 15, 2014 (two weeks before he passed away).

He looked his illness in the eye and said, “I’m here and God has a plan for me”. Bernard wasn’t afraid to share his journey with others. He shared all the joy, pain, sorrow, and faith with the world. I’m so incredibly thankful for this because he has taught me that in this life we have to be real and when we are, we can truly connect with others.

I don’t know what Bernard would think about where I am on this infertility path and journey, but I do know that he would support me and tell me to share it. Share my season, my storm, my gratitude with others. Well I’m doing it friend. I hear you. I miss you. I love you. Until we meet again, thank you for blessing my life with your spirit.

