I recently went camping with my husband and a few friends in the Ocala National Forest. It was my first camping experience. I was a bit nervous, but that weekend, God showed up in a big way.

While there, we swam in salt springs. Again, nervous – I didn’t know what to expect, but it was like a big swimming pool. The swimming area was walled off and there were stairs to get in. The temperature is a consistent 72º, it was a little chilly for me. It took me a good 10 minutes to gather the courage to dive in. But when I finally did, it was glorious.

Our friends brought snorkel sets for, another first for me. Every time I tried using the snorkel, I choked on water. I think it was a combination of user error, and panic when I realized I had to rely on this little tube to breathe. When I finally “got it,” it was the coolest experience. I’ll never forget it.

When I arrived home, I started to think how God is like our snorkel. We need Him to breathe. We also need to trust He will provide what we need. He is our lifeline.

The Spirit of God has made me, and the breath of the Almighty gives me life. – Job 33:4

